Write Because it Feels Right

Am I a good writer? Am I articulate and inspiring? Is my grammar perfect and my vocabulary prodigious? (See what I did there? Haha!) Do readers anxiously await my next post and engage in thought provoking discussions with friends? Are you hanging on my every word right now? NOT! I write because it feels good. I write when I’m inspired. I write when I feel I have something to say. It’s cathartic. It makes me feel like I’m making a difference. Heck, sometimes it even makes me feel intelligent. I like to research for my posts. Learning is my ‘thing’. It fulfills my step by step philosophy. The more I learn, the more I can share. The more I share the more I want to learn. One foot in front of the other.

She just started writing

Writing also feels hopeful. I just read the great book, Girl, Wash Your Face by Rachel Hollis. (Okay, I didn’t read it. I’ve become obsessed with Audible and listening to books when I drive. This one was perfect for a 1600 km drive to Nova Scotia this summer.) It’s a great book written to real, imperfect women, by an equally real and imperfect woman. Gabby didn’t start out to be a best-selling author, or sold-out speaker, or a lifestyle blogger followed by millions of people worldwide. She just started writing. And soon enough it became her full time jig! So it feels hopeful to me, and I feel like I give hope to others, too. I think my one-step-at-a-time philosophy works for people looking to make change. We all want to be better, do better, make a difference. But it seems so daunting. It can seem impossible. My hope is that accepting each one of us in our own unique place on our journey and inspiring small shifts from that place will continue to inspire more change. Eventually my hope is slowly, one small step after another you won’t believe where you end up!

I also love to learn. Did I say that already? That’s because I really do love it! It is said the best way to learn is to teach. I learned so much about faith and Christianity when I taught children in Sunday school. And I find the same with my business and my writing. I don’t want to just sell products, or encourage people to lock arms and work on our team to earn income. I want to educate people. I want them to make informed choices, whether it’s about diet, or skincare, or financial freedom, or even just not drinking bottled water!

If I encouraged them to eat healthier whole food for a month – that’s awesome!

I recently shared the Arbonne 30 Day clean eating program with a group of women. One of them joined and accessed all the supplements, recipes and information, and then the rest of her friends took all the recipes and information and started their own 30 day journey. I’m actually okay with that! The program is designed to work better with the supplements to wean you off sugar, caffeine, and break the addictive cycle, but if it encouraged them to eat a healthier whole food diet for a month that’s awesome!! I learn more every time I talk to a group. So we all benefited.

So, no, I don’t have a self-help book brewing in the back of my mind. I don’t even have a romantic or spy novel in the making. I just write. I haven’t published a book. I don’t have to worry about any critical reviews. I write because it feels right! Maybe over time I’ll develop something more than random thoughts on the power of one. Or maybe the idea of positive change one step at a time will become something bigger. I’m perfectly fine in the waiting. And I appreciate you waiting here with me.

 

 


2 thoughts on “Write Because it Feels Right

Leave a comment